Research Infrastructure Coordination Committee (RICC)

The RICC directive is to

  • Organise the operational relations between the SIOS activity programme and the partner facilities.

The RICC work programme for 2022

  • Test the new e-learning for Svalbard research
  • Work towards better coordination of logistical services for SIOS members
  • Discuss research infrastructure investment priorities and potential for collaboration

Associated task forces

  • There are no active task forces associated with this working group.

Key achievements in 2021

  • Mapped SIOS members' research infrastructure investment plans
  • Gave input to SOAG and SIOS-KC on a range of research infrastructure optimisation initiatives
  • Supported participants in the SIOS access programme

News from RICC

2021 was somewhat more predictable than 2020, but still in terms of travel restrictions implemented to reduce the spread of Covid-19. 13 of the projects supported through the SIOS access programme were able to fully or mostly complete their planned fieldwork, but there are still 8 projects that have been postponed to 2022. RICC members have been working with the project participants to find solutions, and SIOS-KC has secured an extension to the funding from the Research Council of Norway so the projects can be financially supported this year. We hope that the final projects can complete their fieldwork in 2022 at last!

You can find a full list of SIOS supported projects due to be be carried out in 2021 here, along with updates from completed projects. 

RICC members are used to meeting on virtual platforms, and the working group meetings have been progressing as normal. SIOS-KC would like to extend our thanks to all those that have contributed to maintaining SIOS activities during this unusual time.

Photo: RICC members and others in attendance at Polar Night Week 2020.



RICC Chair

  • Archana Singh - National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research

RICC Co-chair

  • Verena Mohaupt - Alfred Wegener Institute

RICC members

  • Hyoung Geun Lee - Korea Polar Research Institute
  • Seonung Choi - Korea Polar Research Institute
  • Rune Jensen - Norwegian Polar Institute
  • Martin Ludvigsen - NTNU - Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Kjetil Stiansen - Norwegian Meteorological Institute
  • Kolbjørn Blix - Andøya Space
  • Anna Maria Dichiarante - NORSAR
  • Ilker Fer - University of Bergen
  • Benedicte Ferré - UiT The Arctic University of Norway
  • Ove Hermansen - NILU - Norwegian Institute for Air Research
  • Andreas Köhler
  • Elzbieta Lepkowska - University of Silesia, Poland
  • Sabine Marty - Norwegian Institute for Water Research
  • Mauro Mazzola
  • Øyvind Mikkelsen - NTNU - Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Hiroshi Miyaoka - National Institute for Polar Research
  • Verena Mohaupt - Alfred Wegener Institute
  • Wlodzimierz Sielski - Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Archana Singh - National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research
  • Fred Skancke Hansen - The University Centre in Svalbard
  • Kai Sørensen - Norwegian Institute for Water Research
  • Angelo Viola - National Research Council of Italy
  • Karina Wieczorek - University of Silesia, Poland
  • Paul Zieger - Stockholm University