The idea of SIOS was first mentioned in July 2007. Already in 2008, SIOS was included in the ESFRI Roadmap - where it was listed for 10 years - and received  EU funding (FP7) for its preparatory phase starting in 2010. In 2014, SIOS entered its interim phase, funded by the Research Council of Norway and in-kind contributions from its members, with the aim to set up the Knowledge Centre and its services. 26 January 2018, SIOS entered its operational phase with 23 members and two observers signing the MoU. The SIOS Knowledge Centre was funded by the the host - through the Research Council of Norway - both in the first phase (2018-2021) and the second phase (2022-2026) of the operational phase. Activities in the operational phase are funded by in-cash and in-kind contributions from the SIOS members.



14 institutions from 10 nations

The University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS)

Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz Zentrum fuer Polar-und Meeresforschung (AWI)

British Antarctic Survey (BAS)

Consiglio Nazionale delle Richerche (CNR)

Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)

Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences (IGF PAS)

French Polar Institute Paul-Emile Victor (IPEV)

Norwegian Meteorological Institute (MET Norway)

Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center (NERSC)

National Institute for Polar Research (NIPR)

The Norwegian Polar Institute (NPI)

Polar Research Institute of China (PRIC)

Stockholm University (SU)

University of Helsinki (UH)


Formal partners

26 institutions from 14 nations

  • Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Germany
  • Andøya Rocket Range, Norway
  • Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute of Roshydromet, Russia
  • Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
  • French Polar Research Institute, France
  • Institute of Geophysics - Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • Institute of Marine Research, Norway
  • Institute of Oceanology - Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • Korea Ocean Research & Development Institute - Korea Polar Research Institute, Korea
  • Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center, Norway
  • National Environmental Research Institute - Aarhus University, Denmark
  • National Research Council of Italy, Italy
  • Natural Environment Research Council, UK
  • Norwegian Institute for Air Research, Norway
  • Norwegian Meteorological Institute, Norway
  • Norwegian Ministry of Trade and Industry - Norwegian Space Centre, Norway
  • Polar Geophysical Institute - Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • Polar Research Institute of China, China
  • Stockholm University, Sweden
  • The National Institute of Polar Research - Research Organisation of Information and Systems, Japan
  • The Norwegian Polar Institute, Norway
  • The Research Council of Norway, Norway
  • The University Centre in Svalbard, Norway
  • University of Bergen, Norway
  • University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • University of Tromsø, Norway

Associated partners

24 institutions from 11 nations

  • National Centre for Antarctic & Ocean Research, India
  • National Science Foundation, USA
  • Ministry of Science and Innovation, Spain
  • Institute of Botany – Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic
  • The Scottish Association for Marine Science, UK
  • University of Leicester, UK
  • EISCAT Scientific Association, Sweden
  • Arctic Centre – University of Lapland, Finland
  • Kola Science Centre – Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • Geophysical Survey – Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Norwegian Institute of Water Research, Norway
  • University of Oslo, Norway
  • Kings Bay AS, Norway
  • Stiftelsen NORSAR, Norway
  • Akvaplan-niva AS, Norway
  • Norwegian Institute of Nature Research, Norway
  • Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Kongsberg Satellite Services AS, Norway
  • Northern Research Institute Tromsoe AS, Norway
  • Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate, Norway
  • Norwegian Mapping Authority, Norway
  • Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, Norway
  • Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland