Workshop: Cooperation on Training in Safe Rifle Handling in a Polar Bear Protection Context

The SIOS Workshop: Cooperation on Training in Safe Rifle Handling in a Polar Bear Protection Context will be held in hybrid format on 30 October this year. The workshop will bring together people who are responsible for their institution's safety training and/or who train others to handle rifles safety in the context of polar bear protection. There will be talks from those responsible for this training at their institution and opportunities for discussion.

Date: 30 October 2023

Place: Hybrid (online or in Oslo; registration has closed)

Aim: To reach a common understanding of the next steps to create SIOS competence standards for rifle handling courses that fulfil current and future regulations.

The programme (subject to minor changes) is here: Programme for Workshop on Cooperation on Training in Safe Rifle Handling
Practical Information

Location (for those participating physically)

The Norwegian Meteorological Institute

Henrik Mohns plass 1

0313 OSLO

Information on how to reach the venue is available here: Enter the building labelled Tallhall on the map, and the meeting room is on the ground floor.

Costs and travel grants

SIOS will cover the costs of conference facilities, lunch and refreshments during the day. Travel and accommodation (with breakfast) need to be covered by the participant. However, we have funding for a limited number of travel grants to workshop participants, awarded to those fulfilling the following criteria:

  1. Registering for the workshop by 9th October at 10:00 CET and booking the flights and accommodation (economic options) as soon as possible after finding out about the travel grant.
  2. Participants giving a talk at the workshop will be prioritised for the travel grants.

The amount of funding awarded per participant will be up to 5000 NOK for participants from Europe and up to 10000 NOK for participants from Asia. 

Travel grant recipients must fill in this form and send it to

Organising committee
  • Verena Mohaupt, AWI
  • Archana Singh, NCPOR
  • Fred Skanke Hansen, UNIS
  • Mauro Mazzola, CNR
  • Arnt Rennan, NPI
  • Wlodzimierz Sielski, IG-PAS
  • Eleanor Jones, SIOS-KC